We Shall Overcome.

I was reading an article this morning about the Top 10 Most Popular Names for Babies in 2007. Buuuut, I don’t remember where it was I read it. So, I did a little research and came across this list from BabyNames.com.

Now, I come from a family where we don’t really put too much stock in coming up with a baby name. For example, my mother, father, brother and myself are named: Sue, Mike, Dan, and Tom. Yeah, take your time trying to pronounce those.

The fellas in my family ranked 42 (Daniel), 57 (Michael), and 74 (Thomas) on this list. My mom’s name, Susan, did not even crack the Top 100.

As I looked through the list I tried to get a comment on their rankings from my dear friends Gage (#93), Mattox (#77), Finn (#85!), Jace (#62), and Kaden (#3!!!!) but none of them picked up their phones.

It’s funny to note that in the top 10 four of the names rhyme with each other: Jaden (7), Kaden (douche 3), Braden (2), Aidan (1). Not sure if I understand this Name-Den phenomenon, but I suppose it’s no worse than the “let’s make sure all 18 of our children have a name that start with the letter J” phase that families are going through.

Names Date of Birth [22] Notes
1 Joshua James March 3, 1988 Oldest Child
2 Jana Marie January 12, 1990 twin of John-David
3 John-David January 12, 1990 twin of Jana
4 Jill Michelle May 17, 1991
5 Jessa Lauren November 4, 1992
6 Jinger Nicole December 21, 1993 pronounced like “Ginger”
7 Joseph Garrett January 20, 1995
8 Josiah Matthew August 28, 1996
9 Joy-Anna October 28, 1997
10 Jeremiah Robert December 30, 1998 twin of Jedidiah
11 Jedidiah Robert December 30, 1998 twin of Jeremiah
12 Jason Michael April 21, 2000
13 James Andrew July 7, 2001
14 Justin Samuel November 15, 2002
15 Jackson Levi May 23, 2004 birth featured on Discovery Health Channel special
16 Johannah Faith October 11, 2005 birth featured on Discovery Health Channel special
17 Jennifer Danielle August 2, 2007 birth featured on TLC special
18 Unknown Due January 1, 2009 announced May 9, 2008

My favorite is their 18th child, “Unknown.” Such a stripper name…

I love this picture of the Duggar Family…

On the left hand side it reads “Proverbs 3:5-7.” Which means…

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not lean on your own understanding.
6 In all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make straight your paths.
7 Be not wise in your own eyes;
fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.

Or, in layman’s terms:  Have 18 children or go to hell!

I want one kid, preferably LeBron James.   I would also settle for  a young Bruce Willis.  I’m not picky.

.el sway

Leave a Reply

