I’m Sorry, I Just Don’t Like The Beatles.

If you know me, then you know several things about me. If you don’t know me, then you know nothing. But, know this – I Do Not Like The Beatles.

I should let you know that I’ve tried. The one thing I hear from people all the time is, “you’re just not listening to the right stuff.” Obviously. If their catalog of hit records is not the right stuff then what is?

I was brought up listening to the Beatles, because my Dad thought he was a black man and, like how most white kids who listen to rap are drawn to the Beastie Boys (uck!), he levitated towards the Beatles and their “blue-eyed soul.” So, it was around me.

And, NO, I’m not being stubborn. Look through my record collection and “ipod” and find a Beatles record. If you do, you can have it.

Somewhere along the way I got it into my head that you had to be either a Beatles or Rolling Stones fan. So, I chose the Stones. Much like you can only like Billy Joel or Elton John, not both (though some say that it’s either Billy Joel or Bruce Springsteen. Either way, Billy Joel loses).

Maybe I am stubborn. Maybe I’m just an elitist! Awesome!

Everyone stands by the Beatles. Well, except these guys. Though, it is a Geocities website. They’ve probably all since passed and or are web designers, which would make them Beatles fans. So I hear.

I’m also not one of those “Biblical” Beatles hating people. But, I do love the effort they put into it!

To the Bible!!

I want to make it plain that I hate the Beatles. Specifically, I hate their work. I hate the sounds of their songs. I despise what they did… even the “sunny” songs they sang. I hate them, for the Bible teaches me to say,

“The fear of the Lord is to hate evil; Pride and arrogance and the evil way And the perverse mouth I hate.” Proverbs 8:1

Wow. I’m not that bad.

But, let’s do this; for all the Beatles fans who have stood their ground and fought tooth and nail to get me to fall head over heels for the Beatles, no one has ever actually gone out of their way to “make me a cd” of their favorite Beatles songs. Maybe I’ll like it. Then you’ll have proven me wrong. And if I don’t like it? I’ll put my name on it and give it to my dad for his birthday. I’m sure he’ll love it!

.el sway

3 responses to “I’m Sorry, I Just Don’t Like The Beatles.

  1. hahahahha, you suck dude

  2. Glad to know I’m not the only one.

  3. I don’t like the Beatles either. I never have and I never will. They were a mass produced 60s pop band that were shoved in the public so much you would be an outcast if you didn’t like them. When I was in high school some students were circulating a petiition to have John Lennon’s birthday declared a national holiday. I said no I wouldn’t sign because I don’t like the Beatles. The girl with the petition said “everyone likes the Beatles” I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

