Rule of Threes

It has been brought to my attention that all of my posts so far have been angry and negative. While this is a trend that will no doubt continue, I also want to make sure that I occasionally take the time to write about things that I greatly enjoy. So here are three such things:

Congee Village: Located on Allen St., this is my favorite Chinese restaurant in the city. It is deceptively huge on the inside, and nearly always crowded. My favorite thing to order is Hong Kong-style deep fried frogs legs. They are ridiculously good, but at $16.95 something I can’t get very often. Congee is simply a rice-based porridge, and they offer a seemingly infinite number of varieties (including 1000-year-old egg)

Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman — My favorite dvd release of the year, this is a Norman Lear-produced nightly soap opera that ran in the mid-70s. Engrossing from the first scene onwards, this show somehow managed to combine earnest melodrama, deep-rooted existential dread, and uproarious absurdist comedy into each episode’s 22-minute parameters. It rules, and there is no dvd release I would be happier to see than Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman Vol. 2.

Wu-Tang Clan’s 8 Diagrams — This came out last month, and is way better than it has any right to be. I approach a Wu-Tang record first and foremost as a RZA release, and he’s on top of his game here. This is a dark, textured, and uncompromising album, not just a pointless victory lap by a group that’s been around for nearly 15 years (that’s 90 in rap years). “Unpredictable” and “Wolves” (with George Clinton) are my two favorite tracks.

Okay. I’ll be back on the negative tip tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

